

## TECHNICAL EDITOR'S PAGE

During FY 1982-83, the JOURNAL OF ENERGY RESOURCES TECHNOLOGY published 85 papers. Long delay in waiting for printing in JERT has been eased. Starting with the December 1983 issue, the total printing allocation during FY 1982-84 for JERT is 600 printed pages per year, a 20-percent increase over FY 1982-83 and 50 percent increase over FY 1981-82. The Journal backlog came primarily from the annual International Offshore Mechanics and Arctic Engineering Symposium held at the 1983 ETCE, which JERT has initiated and sponsored. A further increase in papers on Rock Mechanics, Synthetic Fuels, Pipeline Engineering, Ocean Engineering, and Drill Mechanics is projected. Despite the increase in the total page allocation, the Board will continue to minimize the total time lapse between paper submission and publication.

Joe Galate (Arctic Engineering), Harold Doiron (Drilling), and Sam Collier (Manufacturers) have completed their terms as Associate Editors in 1983. Their valuable service is truly appreciated. Dick Corlett (Emerging Energy Technology/Synfuels) will continue to be Associate Editor, renewing his term.

Joining the Board as new Associate Editors are:

- Jim Brill (1983-85) of University of Tulsa in Production (gas flows and petroleum fluid mechanics)
- •Phil Pattillo (1984–86) of Amoco Production Co. in Drilling (drilling systems and drilling mechanics)
- Subrata Chakrabarti (1984–86) of Chicago Bridge & Iron, Inc. in Offshore Mechanics/Control (hydrodynamics)
- •Tony Wang (1984-86) of Exxon Production Research Co. in Arctic Engineering (ice mechanics and ice-structure interactions).

They will bring a tremendous breadth and depth of expertise to the Board.

Continuing to serve on the Editorial Board are Owen Griffin (Offshore Mechanics), Dave Garrett (Offshore Mechanics), Karel Karal (Offshore Mechanics), Leo Huang (Offshore Mechanics), Richard Corlett (Synfuel/Wind Energy/Emerging Energy Technologies), Virgil Lunardini (Arctic Engineering), Sunder Advani (Rock Mechanics), Don Coulter (Pipeline Transportation), Reed Welker (Manufacturing/Hydrocarbon Processing), Ron Knapp (Ocean Engineering), and Calvin Brunner (Solid Waste Processing).

Besides the JERT editors, our colleagues have helped us process the manuscript review. I would like to recognize those colleagues for their unselfish, competent, hard work. They are John Martinez, Rich Larrabee, Demos Angelides, Stelios Kyriakides, Femi Ayorinde, Ibrahim Konuk, Duane Sanders, Dave Reitz, Kent Davies, Demos Tsahalis, Ed Gregory, Alan Murray, Anmol Singh, D. Sodhi, Steinar Berg.

The exacting task of the JERT editors has been possible only through careful, deligent review of the papers by those well-recognized experts in the industry and academia. The Board would like to recognize them by printing the list of the reviewers in the March 1984 issue. I would like to express the Board's appreciation to them. They have given generously of their valuable time in rendering their help to the Journal.

Finally, may I remind you that the Journal always welcomes submission of quality papers from our membership and readers. This is your outlet for publishing your work. The papers can be directly submitted to the JERT Editorial Board or through the ASME Meetings or Conferences.

Happy New Year

Jin S. Chung